This album has just been a great way to pick up where the band left off, after a decade of not releasing since their hiatus started in 2003.  The album has 2 tracks 20 minutes long and another 2 who are six-and-a-half minute drones. 

This album is filled with shimmering strings, feral energy, intensity that is obviously uncanny and mind blowing, hissing, rumbling, ghost like noises, melodies repeating like mantras, sounds of sawing violins and white noise, coming all together in a beautiful, beautiful harmony, almost horror like, with a Sonic Youth twist. 

Listen to Goodspeed You! Black Emperor here

Allelujah! Don’t Bend! Ascend! full album